SE Habla Espanol

Your Freedom
And Your Family Is Our First Priority

YearsCombined Experience

Second Offense DUI Attorneys in Orlando

Providing Strong Legal Representation Through the DUI Legal Process

If you have been arrested and charged with a second offense DUI, you must have solid legal representation on your side. A Florida DUI charge can significantly affect your life, ability to drive, and reputation in the community. In recent years, Florida laws have cracked down on DUI offenses, so anyone who faces charges for a second offense should never try to handle their case on their own.

Instead, hiring an experienced second-offense DUI lawyer to help you navigate the complex legal system is in your best interest. In most instances, individuals who hire attorneys to represent them in DUI cases fare better than those who decide not to have legal representation.

The Defense Group of Orlando, FL, has highly experienced second-offense DUI lawyers who can assess your case and determine the best legal strategies for your needs. Call us at 407-743-8430.

When Can a Person Be Charged With a Second DUI Offense?

Florida law dictates that an individual may be charged with a second DUI offense if their case meets specific legal criteria. Any individual who drives a motor vehicle or is found to be in control of a vehicle may be charged with a second DUI. It should be noted that actual physical control refers to an individual being in the vehicle and capable of operating it, such as possessing the keys.

Legal criteria for charging an individual with a second DUI offense include:

  • An individual is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance to the point that their ability to drive is impaired.
  • The individual performed a breath test that indicated an alcohol level of 0.08 percent or higher.
  • The individual submitted to a blood alcohol test that indicates a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher.
  • The individual has a previous DUI conviction, whether in Florida or out-of-state.

If you have been charged with a second DUI offense, you must consult with an experienced attorney immediately. Only an attorney can inform you of your rights and help you understand what you can do to protect your freedom.

What Type of Penalties Can I Receive if Convicted of a Second DUI?

Even though a second conviction for a DUI is a second-degree misdemeanor, individuals can expect to deal with stiff penalties.

Second-offense DUI penalties may include:

  • A minimum 6-month driver’s license suspension. However, in some cases, the court may order that a driver’s license be suspended for up to one year.
  • Up to 9 months in county jail.
  • A minimum fine ranging between $1,000 to $2,000.
  • The vehicle used in the DUI will be impounded for 10 days.
  • The driver is required to install Ignition Interlock devices on all vehicles owned or used for a period of at least one year.
  • Being placed on probation for 6 to 12 months.
  • Mandatory completion of a licensed DUI substance abuse program and any recommended treatment.
  • 50 hours of mandatory community service.

However, Florida law allows DUI penalties to be enhanced if the accused was accompanied by a minor or had a breath or blood alcohol level of 0.15 percent or higher.

  • A fine of $2,000 to $4,000 or $5,000 if another person suffered a severe injury.
  • Up to 12 months in county jail.
  • Ignition interlock devices are placed on the driver’s vehicles for not less than two years.

If you still need clarification regarding the penalties for a second DUI conviction, contact The Defense Group and ask to speak with an experienced legal team member who can provide more information. Call us at 407-743-8430.

Can I Obtain a Hardship License if I am Convicted for a Second DUI Offense?

If you are convicted of a second DUI offense in Florida, you are required to wait one year from the date your license was suspended before you can apply for a hardship license. However, if you are convicted of a second DUI within 5 years of your first DUI, your license will be suspended for 5 years.

After the mandatory suspension period, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) may issue a hardship license if the applicant completes several required legal obligations. These legal obligations include:

  • You must complete multiple offender DUI school.
  • You may not drive while your license is suspended.
  • You are not permitted to use drugs or alcohol during the time your license is suspended.
  • Complete any treatment or substance abuse treatment programs if ordered by the court.
  • Obtain and comply with all rules that apply to having an Ignition Interlock Device for the time ordered by the court.

Contact The Defense Group at our Orlando law offices and ask to schedule a free case evaluation to learn how we can assist you with trying to obtain a hardship license. Call us at 407-743-8430.

What Type of Results Can I Expect From Your DUI Lawyers?

If you have been arrested for a second DUI, you must hire an attorney who will fight to protect your freedom. You need an attorney who knows what it takes to get favorable results. Our dedicated legal professionals will evaluate the case and work to reduce or possibly have your charges thrown out.

Some possible defenses to DUI include:

  • The officer did not have probable cause to pull you over.
  • The field sobriety or blood alcohol content tests were improperly administered.
  • Your civil rights were violated.

Our second-offense DUI lawyers will also evaluate all body and dash cam videos to determine whether conflicting law enforcement statements may weaken the state’s case.

Contact The Defense Group of Orlando, FL, at 407-743-8430 and ask to schedule a free no-obligation consultation so that we may discuss your legal needs.